phpMyAdmin DONE!!

Well, feeling kind of invincible at this moment… ^-^

This is the first time I’ve accomplished a task which seemed impossible to me entirely by myself (and googling of course)!

I started from here: http://www.howtoforge.com/ubuntu_lamp_for_newbies.

This instructions are very clear and easy to follow.

It went really well at Testing Apache (http://localhost/) stage; then succeeded at Testing PHP (http://localhost/testphp.php) stage.

I had some problem at “change the 127.0.0.1 to your IP address” but figured it out eventually.

Unfortunately, after all the steps are done, I couldn’t get phpMyAdmin work in my machine. It kept saying “Not Found: The requested URL /phpMyAdmin/ was not found on this server”.

Checked every step again. Didn’t see any error. Then google a bit more and found this: “FIX The requested URL -phpMyAdmin was not found on this server.”

(http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-software-2/how-to-fix-the-requested-url-phpmyadmin-was-not-found-on-this-server-796610/).

So I followed the instructions, only to confirm that I didn’t do anything wrong earlier.

Then the miracle happened. I got the page all of a sudden:

I am quite confused. Tried the link from “History” again; error! Tried the new one; worked! Ummmmmm…

I did input exactly the same thing though… well, maybe not quite “exactly” the same.

I noticed that “phpMyAdmin” didn’t work but “phpmyadmin” works. So… maybe it’s Case Sensitive? Can’t believe I’ve wasted about twenty minutes on this! 🙂

(again)

Any comments, folks?

Anyway, phpMyAdmin made my day! 😀

**********************************************************************

(New Progress:)

Well, James made a really good point here. Sharp eyesight, BTW! 🙂

Rerun the command again, and found out that I DID miss the * beside apache! I selected it this time, using the space bar.

Is my phpmyadmin configuration correct now? ^-^

Thanks so much, all of you! I do think James and Jason totally deserve some “#teacherpoints” for all the help you guys have offered here. How do I do this though? I’d say I would like to give some points to both of you. Or is there any code I should put on Twitter?

6 thoughts on “phpMyAdmin DONE!!

  1. Congrats! And yes, this is CASE SENSITIVE as you discovered. This is actually a common error that occurs when people host their own stuff and/or they make stuff on their own computer (webpages, PDFs, etc) that they later upload to a hosting company like GoDaddy. If the correct case is not chosen in URL links, then oftentimes it cannot be found.

    Which is why it is recommeneded to:
    1. always use lowercase for all of your naming conventions. Although uppercase will work. So…
    2. be consistent. dont mix upper and lower in your naming conventions.

  2. Very useful information, thanks Jason!
    I guess it’s all very basic for you guys. But to me… well, really wanna say it’s good to know it now!
    After all, never too late to learn. 🙂

  3. Yes, it can be somewhat confusing. Here is a good article (I just did a quick Google search to find this) that explains it pretty well.

    http://caheinfo.wsu.edu/webtips/names.html

    NOTE as well, per the article:
    1. the uppercase/lowercase stuff I told you about is really only an issue on UNIX / LINUX / UBUNTU systems. So if you were doing all of this on an Apple or a WinPC, you wouldn’t have encountered the issue. But 95% of the time people (and companies like GoDaddy, etc) use UNIX servers to host websites, so the naming convention is something you should always be aware of.
    2. You should also be aware (again, read the article) about using ” ” vs using “_” or “-” when naming files and folders that are part of a website. So something like “meeting_notes_2011” is good, but “meeting notes 2011” is not good.

  4. Your phpmyadmin was configured wrong. If you ran the code from the link you gave (sudo ln -s /etc/phpmyadmin/apache.conf /etc/apache2/conf.d/phpmyadmin.conf
    sudo /etc/init.d/apache2 reload) from the terminal, then it reconfigured your install. This was the correct thing to do but it compensated for not actually having chosen apache in your initial phpmyadmin setup. I know, it looks like you choose apache but unless there is actually an * beside apache, it is not selected. This * only come after using the Space Bar to select in the set up process.

  5. Got it! You are right. I’ve never encountered such issue on a PC or Mac before.
    I am aware of the use of “_” or “-” though.
    Thanks for the infor again.
    Teacherpoints!! 😀

Leave a Reply

