Flashing the Linksys WRT54GS2V1 (To Be Continued…)

Trying to do “Flashing the Linksys WRT54GS2V1” right now. So far, just finished configuring my own computer’s local lan Ethernet address, subnet, gateway, etc. Done the hard resert. But ——

Where do I find this “firmware upgrade dialog” to flash “Vxworkskiller-G2V13.bin”? I didn’t see it on the “http://192.168.1.1/” page. It says “Firmware Version: 1.0.02”. Am I supposed to download a “firmware” in order to have the “upgrade dialog”? It’s a puzzle to me now…

**********************************************************************

(New Progress:)

I’m trying to finish the flashing thing today, following Jason’s turorial http://jtbennett.drupalgardens.com/comment/62#comment-62.

I’ve got problem at Step 4 (last time I did it on my Windows laptop). I don’t know about changing TCP/IP on a Ubuntu system. The instructions are quite clear.

However, after I input all the numbers, it wouldn’t allow me to hit “Apply”. As you can see from my screenshot, it was not highlighted. I was wondering…. why. Any help? Thanks!

6 thoughts on “Flashing the Linksys WRT54GS2V1 (To Be Continued…)

  1. I assume you’re following the instructions on this page.
    http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_WRTL54G2_v1.3_%26_WRT54GS2_v1.0

    You’ll need to download the Vxworkskiller-G2V13.bin file and save it to your computer.

    Then from the page at 192.168.1.1 click the Administration tab. Under that click the Firmware Upgrade sub-tab then click the Browse button that is next to the box wher it says Please select a file to Upgrade.

    Then you can upload to file you downloaded to your computer to your router.

  2. Yes I did download both “Vxworkskiller-GS2V1.bin” and “dd-wrt.v24_micro_generic.bin”. Simply couldn’t find “Firmware Upgrade” sub-tab. It’s weird! Cause I’ve tried all the tabs, including “Administration”!! Guess I was just being careless…
    Finally got it now! Thanks so much for your help Dan! 🙂

    So, so far “Vxworkskiller-GS2V1.bin” is done; I’m at the “Tftp” stage now (and you are right, I was following the instructions here “Flashing the Linksys WRT54GS2V1” http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_WRTL54G2_v1.3_%26_WRT54GS2_v1.0#Flashing_the_Linksys_WRT54GS2V1). Unfortunately Internet was down after I flashed Vxworkskiller-GS2V1.bin. I tried to ping 192.168.1.1. The router replied! Not very sure what to do next though. Checked everything. I had no idea what went wrong. Had to give it up at the end.

    I finally managed to get the internet back, using an old router. Will figure this out and try finishing the flashing some other day.

  3. Wow! That’s quite an undertaking. That two-stage process is a bit tricky. I tftp’d things several times before I got it done. Someone can help you out if you get too frustrated.

  4. After several unsuccessful attempts to this flashing task, I finally decided to give it up. 😦
    It is so nice of Jason to offer me help on this task. And of course, he totally deserves teacherpoints for this!! Thanks a lot, jbIT566!!

Leave a Reply

