Get A Router… HOW?? :-(

Trying to get this task done today:

http://learn.occ.utk.edu/content/get-router

Learnt from Google about “192.168.1.1 – Linksys Router Default IP Address”. I tried to connect to the router by opening the web browser and visiting http://192.168.1.1/

Then a window popped out, saying (see the attached image; please ignore the Chinese part… ^-^):

The server 192.168.1.1 at WRT54GS2 requires a username and password.

Warning: This server is requesting that your username and password be sent in an insecure manner (basic authentication without a secure connection).

It required a username and password, but I don’t have any. This is a brand new Linksys WRT54GS2 router I got on Woot. I never set up any name or password yet.

Wondering if anyone could help me with this? I’d very much appreciate it!! *^0^*

3 thoughts on “Get A Router… HOW?? :-(

  1. If you didn’t set a password, then you might try searching for “linksys wrt54gs2 default password”. If you did set a password and forgot it, then you will have to do a factory reset of the router. (I think it may be “admin” and “admin”).

    My advice to most people is when they set the password for the router that they write it on the router (or on a piece of tape or a label).

    I have that same router and got dd-wrt installed on it.

Leave a Reply

